BlueTail Technologies
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Go down
Blackswan

Nano with Nextion  Empty Nano with Nextion

Sun Dec 31, 2023 5:02 pm
I posted this on rr but I thought I might post it here on the chance more Nano experimenters might see it. I am wondering if the nano board can be adapted to a Nextion 2.4” touch screen.  I am a ham and have a ubitx arduino based ham transceiver with a Nextion touch screen. Since I understand the nano is arduino based I thought it might be adaptable to the Nextion. I am thinking of building a nano based scanner in a ubitx case with touch screen control. Similar to a Homepatrol.
Goldmyne99

Nano with Nextion  Empty Re: Nano with Nextion

Sun Dec 31, 2023 5:36 pm
Blackswan wrote:I am wondering if the nano board can be adapted to a Nextion 2.4” touch screen.

Hi. I have no direct experience with the Nextion displays. I see in the Nextion docs that they use a serial UART. The Micro/Nano/Eagle series use the 4 SPI lines to connect to the Wio Terminal. The current FW of the Nano does not use the serial UART for display/control.

Having said that, the Wio Terminal could be used as an SPI to serial bridge to connect the Nextion display.  The Nextion would connect to the Wio Terminal RX/TX pins. It would take some arduino code writing for the Wio to make that happen. I have connected other serial devices to the Wio RX/TX with no issues.  

With some experimenting and coding it could work.

Blackswan likes this post

Blackswan

Sun Dec 31, 2023 6:31 pm
Hmm. I wonder if a spi to uart interface something like this item on eBay item # 225734663116 would work. It seems like overkill to use both the wio and the Nextion. I would need the pinout for the 16 pin connector
Blackswan

Sun Dec 31, 2023 6:38 pm